Trump gives county disaster declaration from October storms

President Trump today declared Marion County as one of 16 Mississippi counties eligible for federal disaster relief from severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding that occurred due to Tropical Storm Olga on Oct. 26.

The counties eligible for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency are Alcorn, Covington, Itawamba, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Leake, Lee, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Scott, Simpson, Smith and Tippah.

Public Assistance is a supplemental cost reimbursement grant program that assists in the restoration of community infrastructure. The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

Category A: Debris Removal.

Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.

Category C: Roads and Bridges.

Category D: Water Control Facilities.

Category E: Buildings and Equipment.

Category F: Utilities.

Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities, and Other Items.

This declaration is the fourth federal disaster in Mississippi this year.

Mississippi is also approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. This program is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

For more information about recovery efforts, visit MEMA’s website at