Eleven qualify so far in county races

Editor’s Note: This story has been updated from the print version to reflect additional qualifiers through Jan. 3:

The first candidates have qualified in Marion County, including Sheriff Berkley Hall and Circuit Clerk Janette Nolan seeking additional terms.

Qualifying began Wednesday and runs through March 1 for offices throughout the county and state.

Hall is seeking his fourth term and Nolan her third. Both are running as Republicans. Hall will be challenged in the Republican primary by Lance Poirer, a former deputy who now works for the Columbia Police Department.

Tax Assessor/Collector Teresa Terrell will also be running again as a Republican.

District 1 Supervisor Randy Dyess and District 4 Supervisor Raymon “Tater” Rowell have also both filed papers to run again as Republicans. District 5 Supervisor Calvin Newsom Sr. will be running for re-election as a Democrat.

Jimmy Townsend has also qualified to run as a Republican candidate for supervisor of District 2. That position is currently held by Terry Broome.

Republican District 2 Justice Court Judge Gwen Broom has also qualified for re-election, as has Republican District 2 Constable Robbie Gill.

Carlton Thornhill has qualified to run for Justice Court judge in District 1 as a Republican.

The primary election will be Aug. 6 with a potential runoff on Aug. 27. The general election will be Nov. 5.

In addition to all of the county offices, state races for governor on down will be on the ballot. Contact the circuit clerk’s office for information about qualifying for county offices and the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office about state positions.

Public Notices

Editor’s Note: Information printed in the “Fire Report” comes via the responding department... READ MORE